Diary of Samuel Pepys

A few days ago, I read this in the Diary and laughed out-loud:

1667
18 August. Lord’s Day. I walked towards Whitehall, but, being wearied, turned into St. Dunstan’s Church, where I heard an able sermon by the minister of the place; and stood by a pretty, modest maid, whom I did labour to take by the hand and the body; but she would not, but got further and further from me; and, at last, I could perceive her to take pins out of her pocket to prick me if I should touch her again; which seeing I did forbear, and was glad I did espy her design. And then I fell to gaze upon another pretty maid in a pew close to me, and she on me; and I did go about to take her hand, which she suffered a little and then withdrew. So the sermon ended, and the church broke up, and my amours ended also, and so took coach and home, and there took my wife, and to Islington with her.

My hero (not really). Here is a modern way to read the diary: http://www.pepysdiary.com/about/

Leave a Reply

